Governing Body

Welcome to the Governing Body Webpage:

On this page we will explain the role of the Governing Body and how we implement our role.

The Governors are all volunteers who support and challenge the Headteacher in planning and providing the best education for the children within a happy learning environment, helping them to develop as confident and successful individuals. The day to day running of the school is the responsibility of the Headteacher. The Governors help to set the strategic direction of the school; ensure finances are used effectively to provide a positive and exciting learning environment and the resources necessary to deliver high standards of teaching and learning and to keep the children safe.

There are 11 Governors who sit on the Governing Board together with the Headteacher, Mrs Foulds. They represent the Parents, the local Community, the Local Authority, Staff and its Church Foundation. Each Governor serves for a term of 4 years. Training is provided for new and current Governors.

The Governing Board meets five times a year. In addition there are 4 sub-committees:

  • Resources Committee (which includes Finance, Health and Safety, Personnel and Buildings)

  • School Improvement Committee (which includes School Improvement, Special Educational Needs and Disability and Safeguarding)

  • Performance Management Committee

  • Disciplinary Committee

Most of the Governors’ work for the school takes place at Committee level with all decisions ratified by the full Governing Board.

In addition Governors take on further responsibilities for curriculum areas. They visit school on a regular basis to get a better understanding of the school, look at the children’s work, monitor behaviour, evaluate progress and ensure the school supports children of all abilities. They also take an active role in drawing up and monitoring the School Improvement Plan.

The Governing Board draws on a range of skills from its members to support the school. If you would like to know more about the role then do get in touch with any of the Governors or the Headteacher.

The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Ann Duffy.

Members of the Governing Board:

  • Chair of Governors - Mrs Alison Cresswell (Co-opted Governor)

  • Mrs Nicola Foulds (Headteacher)

  • Miss Natalie Stone (Staff Governor)

  • Mr Liam Rogers (Staff Governor)

  • Mr Jim Dutton (Parent Governor)

  • Mrs Helen Walker-Foss (Parent Governor)

  • Revd. Phil Michell (Foundation Governor)

  • Revd. Paul Taylor (Foundation Governor)

  • Mr James Travers (Co-opted Governor)

  • Mrs Katie Kerr - (Co-opted Governor)

  • Mrs Linda Hack - (Local Authority Governor)

Committee Structure

Resources Committee:

Mrs Nicola Foulds, Mrs Alison Cresswell, Mr James Travers, Mr Jim Dutton,

School Improvement Committee:

Mrs Nicola Foulds, Miss Natalie Stone, Mrs Helen Walker-Foss, Mrs Katie Kerr, Mrs Linda Hack

Performance Management Committee:

Mrs Alison Cresswell, Mrs Linda Hack

Disciplinary Committee:

Revd. Phil Michell, Mrs Linda Hack

There are no Business or Financial interests to declare for the Governors above.

Our Instrument of Government can be found here.